The Top Reason to Grow Old


Growing old makes no sense.  It is unreasonable.  I still feel like I am a happy, healthy thirty year old on the inside – so ‘whatsup’ with the change in the outside?  I look in the mirror and sometimes I see my Mother.  Sometimes, I see just an older version of me.  Sometimes I am shocked by the reflection and step outside of myself and consider the stranger that stares back at me.

Apart from the exterior, there are many things I like about being in my ‘encore’ time of life!  I like the freedom of relationships.  You don’t have to like me.  I know that I will survive your rejection.  I can tell a man of most any age that I love him and it just says, “I love you too.”  There are no innuendos and no concerns that he will suddenly want more than I meant.

I am thankful as I advance in years as not all people grow old and I believe that it affords us wonderful perspective.  .

I have time.  Time to reflect and play.  Time to sit and watch the clouds and feel the heat from the sun on my skin.  Time to listen to nature and to other people.  Time to write – love that!

My grandchildren amaze me with their abilities and thoughts.  My grown children are a source of pride in their accomplishments and character.  They live too far away – or I do.

My true friends are few but I value them and they value me.  We have walked past the ones that were for a season and those who are users.

I can travel if I want, but mostly I love being home and enjoying the peace and quiet companionship of my dear husband.

Everything is more intense.  The things that I have little or no control over seem to be moving at a more rapid pace including political divides, corporations like Monsanto that have high-jacked our food supply and led to the genetic modification of so many things, the patent office that made GMO possible, and so much more.  Our grandchildren have much to deal with and I fear our legacy isn’t a pretty one.  .  I still have a desire to impact things for good.

My husband of thirty-two years is more precious to me every day.  He doesn’t say much but the silence is filled with love.

But the top reason for growing older is the closeness that I feel to my Creator and the love that I feel for everyone I meet.  I used to look at others and judge their clothes, their financial condition and their failures – now I feel an overwhelming love for them and find myself praying for complete strangers.

I am truly free and I love living!

6 thoughts on “The Top Reason to Grow Old

  1. I like this post very much because I relate to so much of it.The simple pleasures and the deeper appreciation of my spouse top the list.Thanks for your honesty.
    Anne

  2. Hello encorenow,
    i see youre Blog the first time.
    Iám an German, so please excuse my english.

    Today there is a voting on a Bill for labeling the GMO.

    But why is it Today were everybody in the US and the rest of the World is watching the fake presidental Vote?

    I want to let you a few links here, so you might like to check them out.
    Its about GMO Lable.

    ■Initiative California Right to Know: http://www.CArighttoknow.org
    ■Bericht der Deutschen Welle: http://www.dw.de/german-giants-join-gm-food-fight-in-california/a-16307501
    ■New York Times: Vote for the Dinner Party http://www.nytimes.com/2012/10/14/magazine/why-californias-proposition-37-should-matter-to-anyone-who-cares-about-food.html?_r=0

    ######################################

    One other thing.. i like to inform that there are other Partys besides Democrates and Republican who can be votet for.

    Here is the Link>>> http://rt.com/usa/news/us-stein-johnson-foreign-036/

    Good Luck to you and all People in the World,

    LG,
    Outside-Job

    PS: i have postet the GMO Picture in my Blog on http://8hertzwitness.wordpress.com/ and hope it dont have a Copyright.
    If yes please inform me and i will delit it.

Leave a Reply

